Fairy Loot Unboxing – December 2016

fairylootdec1

This month I was very excited to receive my first Fairy Loot subscription box. I have seen unboxings of previous months and was impressed with the contents so I finally decided to treat myself and get December’s box! Fairy Loot is a monthly subscription box focusing on Young Adult fantasy titles. You can get a single box for £26 per month (plus VAT and shipping) or you can choose to subscribe for 3 or 6 months.

Each month’s box has a different theme and the theme for December 2016 was ‘Sci-fi Adventure’, here is what was inside!

fairylootdec3On opening the box I spotted the spoiler card which featured the gorgeous artwork for this month’s theme. And peeking underneath was an item I was very excited to see – a full sized Funko Pop Vinyl! I have a growing collection of Pop Vinyl figures so to have one included in a subscription box is great for me. This was a Star Wars Stormtrooper and whilst I must confess I have never seen Star Wars (*hides*) I really liked the detail on it and it will be welcomed into my collection. The spoiler card revealed that there were different designs sent in the boxes including Stormtroopers, Princess Leia, C-3PO and Rey so there was variety across the boxes.

fairylootdec5Also in the box there was a pair of ‘Galaxy’ socks which were exclusively created by Fairy Loot. I liked that these were an exclusive item and I loved the beautiful starry sky print. The next item was another created exclusively for Fairy Loot, by Geeky Clean. This was a packet of ‘Kryptonite’ bath powder which is said to smell like cupcakes! I have come across products by Geeky Clean before and the pack also includes a discount code for if you wanted to stock up on more goodies!

fairylootdec4Next up were a couple of items designed exclusively for the box by Taratjah. These included a print featuring characters from The Lunar Chronicles and a set of two badges from the Red Rising trilogy. I have not read either of these series yet (a sorry excuse for a bookworm!) but I like Taratjah’s illustrations so it’s nice to see them included here. Also exclusively designed for the box was a watercolour bookmark featuring a quote from Amie Kaufman’s Starbound trilogy. This was a lovely texture and colour and was designed by Lexy Olivia.

fairylootdec2And now it is time for this month’s book which was Flashfall by Jenny Moyer, a blend of sci-fi and rebellion. Here is a little about the book:

‘Orion is a Subpar, expected to mine the tunnels of Outpost Five, near the deadly flash curtain. For generations her people have chased cirium – the only element that can shield humanity from the curtains radioactive particles. She and her caving partner, Dram, work the most treacherous tunnel, flying past flash bats and tunnel gulls in hopes of mining enough cirium to earn their way into the protected city.

But when newcomers arrive at Outpost Five, disturbing revelations make Orion question everything she thought she knew about life on both sides of the cirium shield. As conditions at the outpost grow increasingly dangerous, it’s up to Orion to forge a way past the flashfall – beyond all boundaries, beyond the world as she knows it’

As is typical for Fairy Loot the books included are newly released hardbacks and this particular one is a US edition. One thing about Fairy Loot I really liked was the little drawstring bag that the book was packed inside. I always carry a book with me to work so I’m going to use mine everyday to protect my books when they are in my handbag. And inside the bag there were extra items relating to the book including a letter from the author, a signed bookplate and a bookmark. There was also a ‘Fairyscoop’ leaflet featuring an author interview, and a reading buddy card featuring a unique hashtag enabling you to share the reading experience with another reader which is a great idea.

I was really impressed with my first Fairy Loot and it certainly won’t be my last. I have already ordered my box for January and the theme next month is ‘Mystery and Mischief’ which I am very excited about!

To find out more about Fairy Loot you can check out their website here.

4 thoughts on “Fairy Loot Unboxing – December 2016

  1. Pingback: December Round-Up – The Books I Read In December 2016 – the owl on the bookshelf

  2. Pingback: Fairy Loot Unboxing – January 2017 – the owl on the bookshelf

  3. Pingback: Flashfall by Jenny Moyer + Giveaway – the owl on the bookshelf

  4. Pingback: Fairy Loot Unboxing – February 2017 – the owl on the bookshelf

Leave a Reply

