Fairy Loot Unboxing – January 2017

fairylootjan1

This month I received my second Fairy Loot box! Fairy Loot is a monthly subscription box focusing on Young Adult fantasy titles. You can get a single box for £26 per month (plus VAT and shipping) or you can choose to subscribe for 3 or 6 months.

I really liked December’s ‘Sci-Fi Adventure’ box (unboxing here) so couldn’t wait to receive January’s and the theme for January 2017 was ‘Mystery and Mischief’, here is what was inside!

fairylootjan2The first item I spotted was one I was very excited to see. It had been revealed that we would receive either a Harry Potter or Game of Thrones mystery item so I was delighted to receive a Harry Potter Mystery Mini figure by Funko! I am a huge fan of the Harry Potter series and I also collect Funko figurines so was very pleased to add a mini Hagrid to my growing collection. Next up was a beautiful bookmark designed by Read At Midnight. This featured two beautiful illustrations and quotes from Alice in Wonderland. This bookmark was of a really good quality and very sturdy.

fairylootjan3This month also featured an item I hadn’t received in a subscription box before – a pillow case. This gorgeous design by Risa Rodil features a quote from Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus which I’ve been meaning to read for some time. I was impressed with the quality and really liked the design and how it fits into this month’s theme. I am hoping to move house this year so will be sure to find a place for this in my new home (hopefully in my library!)

 

 

fairylootjan4Next up were a couple of items which were significant to this month’s book. The first was a candle from Meraki Candles. I have received Meraki Candles previously and they smell lovely and this one is no exception with scents of cocoa, berries and musk. This exclusive candle titled ‘Come Back Yesterday’ was actually named by the author of this month’s book which I thought was a great idea. There was also a pretty silver necklace from Oh Panda Eyes featuring a rose design. Again, this is significant to the book so loved how the items compliment the theme.

fairylootjan5I was surprised to see that in addition to January’s book we also received a second hardback book! This was titled How to Think like Sherlock and is by Daniel Smith. This was an interesting little book filled with case studies and brain teasers to help you improve your powers of deduction! I love Sherlock so will certainly be making use of this. Also pictured are a few bonus items featured this month – An Alchemists of Loom bookmark, Passenger notebook and a postcard with a code to download a chapter of Jackaby by William Ritter.

fairylootjan6And now it is time for this month’s book which was Caraval by Stephanie Garber. Here is a little about the book:

‘Welcome to Caraval, where nothing is quite what it seems.

Scarlett and Tella have never left the tiny isle of Trisda, pining from afar for the wonder of Caraval, a once-a-year-week-long performance where the audience participates in the show.

Caraval is Magic. Mystery. Adventure.

When the sisters’ long awaited invitations finally arrive it seems their dreams have come true. But no sooner have they arrived than Tella vanishes, kidnapped by the shows mastermind organiser, Legend.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is an elaborate performance. But she quickly becomes entangled in a dangerous game of love, magic and heartbreak.

And real or not, she must find Tella before the game is over, and her sister disappears forever.’

fairylootjan7I had suspected this may have been the featured book and I was very excited to receive it as I have had my eye on it for a while and it sounds like a brilliant story. This is a beautiful hardback edition and beneath its dust jacket was one of four gorgeous covers – mine featured a dress. Accompanying the book inside the Fairy Loot drawstring bag there were extra items relating to the book including a letter from the author, a signed bookplate, a postcard and a bookmark. There was also a ‘Fairyscoop’ leaflet featuring an author interview, and a reading buddy card featuring a unique hashtag enabling you to share the reading experience with another reader which is a great idea.

I absolutely loved January’s Fairy Loot box and would say it is my favourite of all the subscription boxes I have received so far. I can’t wait to read the book and I love all of the items and how well they work within the theme. I am now looking forward to February’s box which has the theme ‘Emperors and Fugitives’

To find out more about Fairy Loot you can check out their website here.

6 thoughts on “Fairy Loot Unboxing – January 2017

  1. Pingback: January Round-Up – The Books I Read In January 2017 – the owl on the bookshelf

  2. Pingback: Caraval by Stephanie Garber – the owl on the bookshelf

  3. Pingback: Fairy Loot Unboxing – February 2017 – the owl on the bookshelf

  4. Pingback: Fairy Loot Unboxing – April 2017 – the owl on the bookshelf

Leave a Reply

