Other Bookish Posts

The Rapid Fire Book Tag!

owl

Thank you to Emma at Emma’s Bookish Corner for nominating me for the Rapid Fire Book Tag! Here are my answers…

eBooks or physical books?

Definitely physical books for me, I love collecting beautiful books and much prefer holding a physical book rather than looking at a screen!

Paperback or hardback?

I have a lot of both. I find paperbacks easier to hold but love the beautiful editions you can get in hardback.

Online or in-store shopping?

I much prefer to buy in-store. I only order online if it’s a specific edition that isn’t available at my local stores.

Trilogies or series?

I don’t mind either but will go for series as one of my favourite childhood reads is a series (Harry Potter of course!)

Heroes or villains?

I like a good hero!

A book you want everyone to read.

Would highly recommend reading either of Hannah Kent’s wonderful novels, Burial Rites or The Good People. I am a huge fan of hers and her writing is beautiful and evocative.

Recommend an underrated book.

Shotgun Lovesongs by Nikolas Butler is a great story about love and friendships that I think would appeal to a wide range of readers. I know a few people who are fans but feel it deserved a little more widespread attention.

The last book you finished.

Miss Christie Regrets by Guy Fraser-Sampson, a murder mystery novel which has a contemporary setting with a nod to classic detective fiction.

Weirdest thing you used as a book mark.

On the one occasion I forgot my bookmark, I had to use a post it note at work.

Used books, yes or no?

I personally don’t like reading used books. I am incredibly particular about my books so wouldn’t pick up anything that might have creased pages or worse – the dreaded cracked spine!

Top three favourite genres?

‘General’fiction, historical fiction and fantasy

Borrow or buy?

Buy, I like to have my own copy (again, because I am so picky!)

Characters or plot?

Preferably both! But if I had to choose I guess books that may have a more simplistic plot may have excellent character development.

Short or long book?

Preferably somewhere in the middle but as there are so many books I want to read shorter books would be better for me.

Long or short chapters?

Short, I always read on my lunch break at work and don’t like having to finish reading mid chapter.

Name the first three books you think of.

The Glorious Heresies by Lisa McInerney

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry

Books that make you laugh or cry?

Laugh! Although more often than not I end up feeling emotional over books!

Our world or fictional worlds?

Fictional, I like to escape into a more exciting world!

Do you ever judge a book by its cover?

I’ve never bought a book solely based on its cover, something about the story has to intrigue me too, but a beautiful cover certainly grabs my attention.

Book to movie or book to TV adaptation?

I enjoy movie adaptations but the book is usually better.

Series or standalone?

Standalone

My tags:

I nominate –

Lorraine at The Book Review Cafe

Abbie at Bloomin Brilliant Books

Jill at Jill’s Book Cafe

6 thoughts on “The Rapid Fire Book Tag!

      1. I’m happy to do it Nat, I can manage Rapid Fire 🙂 I just do most of my stuff at the weekend because of work. I’ve already set it up as a draft so if I get chance I’ll do it before. Thanks for the shout out it’s much appreciated. x

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

