Subscription Box Unboxings

Fairy Loot Unboxing – February 2017

fairylootfeb1

Today is one of my favourite days of the month – Fairy Loot unboxing day! Fairy Loot is a monthly subscription box focusing on Young Adult fantasy titles. You can get a single box for £26 per month (plus VAT and shipping) or you can choose to subscribe for 3 or 6 months.

This is my third Fairy Loot box, having previously received their December ’Sci-Fi Adventure’ and their January ‘Mystery and Mischief’ box (which was amazing!)

The theme for February was ‘Emperors and Fugitives’ so without further ado, here is what was inside!

fairylootfeb2The first item I spotted was a candle. This one was titled ‘Kalusian Sunset’ and was exclusively made for this box by Happy Piranha. This has a very sweet scent and I was interested to see that its name was chosen by the author of this month’s book choice which is a great idea! Next up was a ‘Celestial Gunpowder’ bath bomb from Bathing Beauties. Again this was an item created exclusively for Fairy Loot which has a sweet, cupcake scent – and it is very pretty!

 

fairylootfeb3This month’s box also featured an item from Funko which was an adorable Groot pocket pop keychain. I am a fan of both Funko and Guardians of the Galaxy so this item was a winner with me. Then there was a pouch created by Alisse Courtier featuring the quote ‘The world makes things for each place’ which is taken from Rebel of the Sands. This would make a useful make-up bag or even a pencil case.

 

 

fairylootfeb4The next items all featured beautiful artwork by some talented designers. There was a double sided print from Taratjah whose work I have received a few times previously. This print features Manon and Dorian from Throne of Glass and whilst I have not read this series I appreciate the beautiful illustration. I also liked the illustration on this bookmark from Till and Dill which features a ‘Space Girl’. This is an eye-catching design and I love the blue and purple colour scheme. It also came wonderfully presented with purple tissue paper and ribbon. And finally there was a coaster designed by Read At Midnight. This features the quote ‘She is catalyst, she is chaos, I can see why he loves her’ which is taken from Illuminae.

fairylootfeb5And now it is time for this month’s book which was Empress Of A Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza. Here is a little about the book:

‘Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta’an, better known as Rhee, is the sole survivor of an ancient bloodline.

She is seen as something delicate, a thing to be preserved and protected until she comes of age to rule as Empress.

But Rhee has other plans.’

I had not heard of this book before but the plot sounds really interesting and I love the title so am looking forward to reading. I also fell in love with the cover art which I think is stunning. This is a US edition and I love how these are featured in Fairy Loot as they are not books I would normally come across. Accompanying the book inside the drawstring bag there was a letter from the author along with a signed bookplate. There was also the regular ‘Fairyscoop’ leaflet featuring an author interview, and a reading buddy card featuring a unique hashtag enabling you to share your views on the book with another reader.

I really liked the February Fairy Loot with the book itself and Groot being my favourite items. I am extremely excited about next month’s box the theme of which is ‘Myths and Monsters’. Not only do I love the theme but this is the one year anniversary box so it promises to be extra special.

To find out more about Fairy Loot and how to get your hands on a box you can check out their website here.

3 thoughts on “Fairy Loot Unboxing – February 2017

Leave a Reply

