Blog Tour – Letters To Eloise by Emily Williams – Guest Post

letterstoeloise

Today I am pleased to be taking part in the blog tour for Letters To Eloise by Emily Williams! I have always enjoyed epistolary novels and in Emily’s debut novel, published on the 17th February 2017, we see the letters written from a mother to her unborn child.

Emily joins me on my blog today to tell us a little more about her book and the inspiration behind it.


The inspiration behind debut novel ‘Letters to Eloise’ by Emily Williams

‘Letters to Eloise is the heart-wrenching debut epistolary novel by Emily Williams; a love story of misunderstandings, loss, and betrayal but ultimately the incredible bond between mother and child’

emilywilliamsEmily Williams lives by the seaside in West Sussex with her family and a large menagerie of small pets. After graduating from Sussex University with a BA in Psychology, Emily trained as a primary school teacher and teaches in a local school. Letters to Eloise is her debut novel.

 I have always cherished handwritten letters, have loved the sound of the postman in the morning, and I still rush to the door to see what has arrived as the letterbox twangs. Sadly, nowadays, it is mostly unwanted flyers or the occasional non-paperless bill but back when I was younger — when the letters were more interesting — I would love to receive them. I have passed on this love to my son, as he now hangs around the letterbox, but being only two he is thrilled with whatever arrives, flyer or otherwise.

letterstoeloise1Before email and text hit the world with storm (this is revealing my age a little) letters were such a personal touch. Letters still are such a special, if infrequent, treat to receive. This is why I chose to write letters from Flora, the protagonist, to her unborn child Eloise in my debut novel Letters to Eloise. I started writing my first diary in 1992, and then wrote one a year up until college, when my life became too exciting to have time to note everything down. I always felt, however, that although a diary is a great outlet for emotions, without an audience, it became meaningless. Flora felt the same, and decided that her baby would be that audience for the letters; a purpose for all her tumbling emotions during her pregnancy.

letterstoeloise2I wrote about pregnancy, because at the time, I was in a place in my life when I really wanted to raise a child. However, circumstances were not right and I had been medically told that conceiving might be problematic, if impossible. I used Flora’s pregnancy as an outlet for these emotions. I was lucky enough, and blessed, to fall unexpectedly pregnant a few months after finishing the first draft of the novel. Due to the nature of the novel and Flora’s complicated emotions, I found continuing with editing very difficult and so the novel was put on hold. I had a medically stressful pregnancy and the book became abandoned. I couldn’t face looking at Letters to Eloise again until after the birth of my second child, a daughter, last July.

When returning to Letters to Eloise and reading the book with fresh eyes, it enabled me to give further depth to Flora and her pregnancy and I became immersed back into the story again. I fell back in love with the storyline and was compelled to finish.

Thank you for reading about how I became inspired to write the novel Letters to Eloise. I do hope you enjoy reading the book.

letterstoeloiseextract


Letter to Eloise is available to buy on kindle and paperback from the 17th February.

‘Receiving a hand written letter is something that always puts a smile on my face, no matter who the sender is.’ Flora Tierney.

When post-graduate student Flora falls unexpectedly pregnant during her final year studies she hits a huge predicament; continue a recent affair with her handsome but mysterious lecturer who dazzles her with love letters taken from the ancient tale of ‘Abelard and Heloise’, or chase after the past with her estranged first love?
But will either man be there to support her during the turmoil ahead?

‘Banish me, therefore, for ever from your heart’ – Abelard to Heloise.

 US – http://a.co/0VshOdw

UKhttp://amzn.eu/iO8Gtrf


This guest post features as part of the blog tour for Letters To Eloise. You can check out the other stops on the tour on the dates and blogs below.

letterstoeloiseblogtour

 

 

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour – Letters To Eloise by Emily Williams – Guest Post

  1. Pingback: February Round-Up – The Books I Read In February 2017 – the owl on the bookshelf

  2. Pingback: Letters To Eloise by Emily Williams – the owl on the bookshelf

Leave a Reply

