Other Bookish Posts

Horror Movie Book Tag

horror-movie-book-tag

Many thanks to Jo over at Jo’s Book Blog for nominating me for the Horror Movie Book Tag!  If you haven’t already checked out Jo’s blog you definitely should – her reviews are brilliant!

Here are the rules:

  1. Please credit Princess at RoyalReader(or just Royal Reader), as the creator of this tag, and add the rules
  2. You can use the graphics provided in your post, or you’re welcome to make your own!
  3. Thank the person(s) who tagged you and let others know of their fabulous blogs
  4. Tag as many people as you want, be it 1 or 20, it’s entirely up to you!

THE ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE: A BOOK YOU WOULD SAVE WHEN CIVILISATION ENDS?

This is a tricky one, but Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel came to mind. This is an excellent dystopian/post apocalyptic novel, but one in which we see how life can continue and how culture can be maintained following dramatic events.

THE VAMPIRE: A BOOK YOU WOULD STAKE THROUGH THE HEART?

I was a little disappointed by Before The Feast by Sasa Stanisic. The premise really intrigued me but the writing style and structure wasn’t to my taste and I really struggled to get through it.

THE HAUNTED HOUSE: A BOOK THAT STILL HAUNTS YOU?

The Dumb House by John Burnside. I really loved this book but the subject matter made for uncomfortable reading at times. It was a surreal read that stayed with me long after I turned the final page.

THE PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER:  A BOOK WITH A TWIST YOU DID NOT SEE COMING?

I absolutely loved My Sister’s Bones by Nuala Ellwood. This was an expertly written psychological tale with plenty of twists and turns including some that I did not expect at all. A dark and gripping book.

THE CREEPY DOLL: A BOOK THAT SEEMS INNOCENT BUT ISN’T?

This is a really tricky one! I can’t think of any books that I’ve read recently that fit this description, but plenty of my childhood reads seem a little darker now – such as The Twits by Roald Dahl and many classic fairy tales!

THE MONSTER: A BOOK YOU COULD BARELY TACKLE/DEFEAT?

I remember my poor attempt at reading The Peripheral by William Gibson. This was a science fiction novel and whilst I am open to giving most books a try I really struggled to get into this one and the plot and the writing itself went straight over my head. I don’t like not finishing a book so I ended up skim reading to the end, but I don’t remember much about it!

THE COMEDY-HORROR: A BOOK WITH MIXED GENRES THAT WORKED (OR DIDN’T)?

I recently read and enjoyed A Dangerous Crossing by Rachel Rhys. This is a historical novel rich in detail which takes place aboard a passenger ship in the 1940’s. It is an enjoyable story that includes history, mystery and romance intertwined.

THE (CLICHED) TEEN HORROR: A BOOK YOU FOUND SUPER CLICHED/STEREOTYPICAL?

This is another difficult one to answer. The only one I can think of is The Witch’s Kiss by Katharine and Elizabeth Corr as I suspected what was going to happen, although in this book it is a re-imagining of a classic fairy tale so was to be expected.

THE DEMONIC POSSESSION: A BOOK SO GRIPPING YOU NEEDED AN EXORCIST TO ESCAPE IT?

I was recently gripped by The Last Act Of Hattie Hoffman by Mindy Mejia. From the first page I was desperate to find out who was responsible for the murder of teenager Hattie in a small American town. And in this novel which alternates between different narrators I was eager to uncover the secrets they each held. I couldn’t put it down.

THE SCIENCE FICTION: A PRECIOUS BOOK YOU WOULD PERMANENTLY SACRIFICE TO ALIENS FOR THE GOOD OF MANKIND?

For this I nominate my favourite book of last year, To The Bright Edge Of The World by Eowyn Ivey. This is a beautifully written story of adventure and the endurance of love. 


I nominate:

Emma at Emma’s Bookish Corner

Donna at Chocolate ‘n’ Waffles

Drew at The Tattooed Book Geek

Plus anyone else that would like to take part!

8 thoughts on “Horror Movie Book Tag

Leave a Reply

