Subscription Box Unboxings

Fairy Loot Unboxing – March 2017

fairylootmar1

Today I am very excited to be unboxing the March Fairy Loot! Fairy Loot is a monthly subscription box focusing on Young Adult fantasy titles. You can get a single box for £26 per month (plus VAT and shipping) or you can choose to subscribe for 3 or 6 months.

This is the fourth Fairy Loot I have received and it is a special one as Fairy Loot are celebrating their first anniversary! To mark the anniversary there are a couple of changes to the box this month, the box itself is purple (my favourite colour!) and it includes a 1st anniversary booklet which tells us a bit about how Fairy Loot began with some photos of its founders Anissa and Michael and some of their friends during their journey. This was a lovely addition and I think that Anissa and Michael should be so proud of what they have achieved over the past year. Of all the subscription box services I have tried I have always been impressed with Fairy Loot. I always find them to be good value for money and have been impressed with the quality of items and the love and attention that has gone into each box and theme. It just goes to show what can be achieved when you invest a lot of hard work and passion into bringing an idea to life!

I was particularly excited for March’s box too due to the theme which was ‘Myths and Monsters’ so without further ado, here is what was inside!

fairylootmar2The first item was one I haven’t seen in a subscription box before, fairy lights! These were an adorable set of battery operated lights featuring unicorns and clouds by Mustard. These are very sweet and whilst I don’t personally have anywhere suitable to put them at the moment I have someone in mind who would love these in their room so I will be gifting these. Then there was a beautiful pocket mirror featuring a mermaid design. I loved the illustration on this and it was created exclusively for the box by Book Otter.

fairylootmar3This month’s box also featured an item from Geeky Clean. I have received bath products from Geeky Clean before but this time we received a candle. This was a Nephilim candle which smells of Black Cherry and Lime which is amazing! The next item was an adorable set of two magnetic bookmarks from Bonitismo. These included a dragon and a phoenix and they are super cute! Both the candle and bookmarks were exclusively created for the box which makes them extra special.

fairylootmar4The last item is one I adore and is perhaps my favourite item ever received in a subscription box. This is a beautiful silver dragon scale scarf made exclusively for the box by GivArt. I love dragons so the print really appealed to me and the fabric is really soft and of good quality. I love that this scarf can show my love of fantasy but that the neutral colour and subtle design mean that I can get lots of wear out of it. I am really thrilled with it!

 

 

 

fairylootmar5And now it is time for this month’s book which was Strange The Dreamer by Laini Taylor. Here is a little about the book from the inside cover:

‘THE DREAM CHOOSES THE DREAMER, NOT THE OTHER WAY AROUND – and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance or lose his dream forever… ’

I haven’t read anything by Laini Taylor but have heard great things and there has been a lot of excitement building around Strange The Dreamer so am looking forward to reading it. This is the special UK edition of the book which is signed by Laini and has beautiful blue sprayed edges. Accompanying the book inside the drawstring bag there was a letter from the author along with a postcard which is one of three designs. There was also the regular ‘Fairyscoop’ leaflet featuring an author interview, and a reading buddy card featuring a unique hashtag enabling you to share your views on the book with another reader.

I loved the March Fairy Loot and alongside the book my favourite item was the dragon scale scarf which I will be wearing very soon! I am now looking forward to April’s box which has the theme ‘Dreams and Wishes’ which I can’t wait to open already!

To find out more about Fairy Loot and how to get your hands on a box you can check out their website here.

2 thoughts on “Fairy Loot Unboxing – March 2017

Leave a Reply

