Subscription Box Unboxings

Fairy Loot Unboxing – April 2017

fairylootmay1

Today I am very excited to be unboxing the April Fairy Loot! Fairy Loot is a monthly subscription box focusing on Young Adult fantasy titles. You can get a single box for £26 per month (plus VAT and shipping) or you can choose to subscribe for 3 or 6 months.

This is the fifth Fairy Loot I have received having first purchased Fairy Loot in December and I have always been impressed with the quality of the items and how well they fit in with the theme. The theme for the April box was ‘Dreams and Wishes’ and here is what was inside!

fairylootmay2The first item was one that had been revealed and which I was looking forward to receiving – a mug! I have received plastic mugs in previous subscription boxes but this was a ceramic mug which I was pleased with and is of good quality – it was even supplied in a Fairy Loot branded box to keep it safe in transit. Designed by Risa Rodil, who also designed the pillowcase in the January ‘Mystery And Mischief’ box, this featured a quote from A Court Of Mist And Fury by Sarah J. Maas. Next up was an item which has not featured in Fairy Loot before, a pin badge. This was a very sweet dream jar design created by House of Wonderland exclusively for this box.

fairylootmay3This month also featured a candle from Meraki Candles which was another item exclusively created for Fairy Loot. This one titled ‘Reverie’ is one of my favourites of the many candles I have received in various subscription boxes. I loved the mint, marshmallow and candy floss scent but what I loved the most was that it was glittery! Another pretty, sparkly item was this beautiful notebook from Portico. This was a gemstone notebook and was one of twelve designs sent out. As it is my birthday in April I was very happy to receive the Diamond which is my birthstone!

fairylootmay4Next up was a tote bag created by Miss Phi which features a quote from The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon (which I still have on my TBR) I have quite a collection of bookish tote bags so this will be a welcome addition to my collection. And finally, was an item designed by Fairy Loot, a ‘Follow Your Dreams’ magnet. I really liked the illustration on this which featured a pretty dream catcher.

fairylootmay5And now it is time for this month’s book which was Given To The Sea by Mindy McGinnis. Here is a little about the book from the inside cover:

‘Khosa was born to be fed to the sea, to prevent the kind of wave that once destroyed the Kingdom of Stille. She can’t be sacrificed until she produces an heir, but human touch repulses her…except for the touch of the Indiri’

I had predicted the featured book for the last few Fairy Loots but this one was a complete surprise to me. I wasn’t familiar with this book or the author, but the premise sounds interesting and I like the idea of a sea based fantasy story. Accompanying the book inside the drawstring bag there was a letter from the author along with a signed bookplate. There was also the regular ‘Fairy Scoop’ leaflet featuring an author interview, and the reading buddy card featuring a unique hashtag enabling you to share your views on the book with another reader. A new addition this month was a bookmark featuring this month’s artwork as illustrated on the regular spoiler card.

I really liked the April Fairy Loot and alongside the book I particularly liked the mug and candle. I am now looking forward to May’s box which has the theme ‘Warriors and Legends’ which sounds really exciting!

To find out more about Fairy Loot and how to get your hands on a box you can check out their website here.

One thought on “Fairy Loot Unboxing – April 2017

Leave a Reply

