Subscription Box Unboxings

Ninja Book Box Unboxing – May 2017

ninjabookboxmay1

This week I received my third Ninja Book Box. I received the very first ‘Slightly Surreal’ box back in November following the Kickstarter campaign and in February I unboxed the ‘Shakespearean Mystery’ box. Ninja Book Box is a quarterly subscription service with the emphasis being on promoting books from independent publishers of all genres, and including associated gifts from local suppliers. I pre-paid to be an ‘Annual Ninja’ so will be receiving all four of the main boxes for 2017 including this one – ‘Magical Lands!’

ninjabookboxmay4This quarter’s book was Dragon’s Green by Scarlett Thomas published by Canongate Books. Here is a little about the book from the blurb:

‘Effie Truelove is a new pupil at the Tusitala School for the Gifted, Troubled and Strange, with its twisted grey spires and an English teacher so frightening she gives the class nightmares.

When her beloved grandfather is brutally attacked, Effie promises to look after his magical books. But then shady book-collector Leonard Levar gets his hands on them and Effie has to embark on the most dangerous adventure of her life…

Effie must travel to the mysterious Otherworld, unlock the hidden meaning of an old book called Dragon’s Green, and brave the terrifying Diberi, a secret organisation with plans that could destroy the entire universe’

This book is a little different from the previous choices for this box as it is a children’s book and a recent release having been published in April. The school setting and magical theme instantly brought to mind Harry Potter and there is high praise on the back from Neil Gaiman, Phillip Pullman and Joanne Harris so I have high hopes for this one! I also loved that this was a hardback edition signed by the author which makes it extra special. It also glows in the dark! (Scientifically checked by me by hiding it in my cardigan!) Also included with the book is a leaflet with an author interview, review from Ninja Book Box and recommendations for further reading. There was also an invitation to a forum to talk about the book and the regular Ninja Recipe Card which was for nutmeg hot chocolate.

ninjabookboxmay2Each month’s box features gifts appropriate to the book which were individually wrapped. This month they included a ‘Magical Library’ candle created exclusively for the box by Good Book Hunting. This smelt very nice and was glittery and sparkly which is a bonus! There was also a lovely little print from Always Bookish featuring the quote ‘Books are a uniquely portable magic’ – which I agree with! Also worth noting that the amount of purple featured in this box appeals to me as it is my favourite colour!

 

ninjabookboxmay3Next up we had an unusual item which I have never received in a subscription box before – a dragon fruit set! This includes a little handmade container, seeds and instructions to grow your own dragon fruit. I have never tried or even seen a dragon fruit in the flesh so will definitely be giving this a go! And continuing the dragon theme there is a dragon bookmark. This features a silver dragon charm on a purple plaited cord. This is a really nice design and I might use it to display on my bookshelves. Also pictured is this month’s charm and case which is a regular feature in the box. This month we had a pair of glasses in a little purple slipcase. This was very sweet and they look like glasses that Luna Lovegood may wear! All of the items in this picture were handmade by Ninja Book Box which goes to show the level of time and effort invested in putting these boxes together and making them unique.

I really liked the May Ninja Book Box and think it may be my favourite yet. In terms of value for money I think that this box is better value for money than the previous month due to the inclusion of the hardback and the exclusive and handmade items. As always with Ninja Book Box I really like the fact that the box has a personal touch and that a lot of love and attention has been put into it. The next box is due in August and I am looking forward to finding out what the next theme is!

If you would like to find out more about the Ninja Book Box, you can check out their website here. I have a referral code for Ninja Book Box, you can use the code NATALIE15 to save 15% on purchases over £5 in their online shop (excluding recurring subscriptions) Please note that whilst I have a referral code I have purchased this box myself so all comments about the box are my own views.

One thought on “Ninja Book Box Unboxing – May 2017

Leave a Reply

