Subscription Box Unboxings

Fairy Loot Unboxing – June 2017

fairylootmay1 (2)

Today I am very excited to be unboxing the June Fairy Loot! Fairy Loot is a monthly subscription box focusing on Young Adult fantasy titles. You can get a single box for £26 per month (plus VAT and shipping) or you can choose to subscribe for 3 or 6 months.

I am currently subscribed to Fairy Loot and June’s box is the seventh that I have received. The thing I love most about Fairy Loot is the quality of the items and how well they fit in with the theme with many items being created exclusively for the box. The theme for the June was ‘Elementalists’ and here is what was inside!

fairylootjun1The first item was from a supplier that had been revealed – a candle from Witchwood Remedies. This was an exclusive ‘Stormheart’ candle which is connected to this month’s chosen book which features different storms. I received the ‘Twister’ candle which was one of five varieties sent out each representing one of the storms in the book. I couldn’t pinpoint the scent for this one but it looks beautiful as it is decorated with botanical toppings. I must admit I am a little apprehensive about burning it due to the botanicals being loose on the top but I have been assured it is safe to do so! Then there was a soap from Ascent Bath And Body which again was created exclusively for the box. This ‘Clairvoyance’ soap is scented with white fig and pomegranate and is nicely packaged. I haven’t unwrapped it yet to take a look at it but am looking forward to giving it a try!

fairylootjun2Next up I picked out a set of potion sticky notes which were created by Fairy Loot. These are very sweet and the different colours represent health, magic and stamina! I will be sure to find a use for these. There was also a lip balm from Geeky Clean based on Avatar: The Last Airbender and as with the candles there were multiple options sent out with four elements represented. I am not familiar with Avatar but I got the ‘Air Bender’ lip balm which smells nice. I was excited to see there was a jewellery item featured this month as I really liked the necklace from the January box. This month we had a Hamsa hand bracelet created exclusively by In The Moment. This is said to be a protective symbol and it is really pretty so will definitely be wearing it soon!

fairylootjun3And then it was onto the pillowcase created by Miss Phi which had been revealed as one of the items and which I was excited about receiving. This gorgeous design features the quote ‘Books are a uniquely portable magic’ which I love. I really like the design and it is a good size so it will make a nice addition to my new home!

 

 

 

fairylootjun4And now it is time for this month’s book which was Roar by Cora Carmack. Here is a little about the book from the inside cover:

‘Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora’s been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honourable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic shell need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks – storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.’

This is the first in the Stormheart series and the first YA book by Cora Cormack who has previously written romance novels for an adult audience. Accompanying the book there was a letter from the author and a signed bookplate which is typical of Fairy Loot boxes. There was also the regular ‘Fairy Scoop’ leaflet featuring an author interview, and the reading buddy card featuring a unique hashtag enabling you to share your views on the book with another reader (I’m #FairyLoot00997 this month reading buddy, if you are out there!). And we also received the collectable bookmark which matches the monthly artwork which I really like.

Once again I am happy with this box and am impressed with the quality of items and the thought that has gone into each one to fit to the theme. I am looking forward to reading the book and of this month’s items I am most impressed with the bracelet and pillowcase. Thank you Fairy Loot! The theme for the July box is ‘Tricksters’ which I am ridiculously excited about so be sure to check back next month to see what’s inside! And if you would like to see the contents of any Fairy Loot from December 2016 onwards, you can find my unboxings in the ‘Subscription Box Unboxing’ section of my blog!

To find out more about Fairy Loot and how to get your hands on a box you can check out their website here.

5 thoughts on “Fairy Loot Unboxing – June 2017

  1. Can’t wait to start reading Roar! My jaw dropped when I saw the cover art in my FairyLoot. So beautiful. Buddies are notoriously difficult to find, apparently. I hope you find yours! If you don’t, I’d be happy to discuss Roar with you after I read it shortly! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

