Book Reviews

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

nevernight

One of the two books received in the August Illumicrate was Nevernight by Jay Kristoff.  I was excited to read this one as I had seen a lot about it on social media and it has been well received by fellow bloggers.

‘A girl some called Pale Daughter. Or Kingmaker. Or Crow. But most often, nothing at all. A killer of killers, whose tally of endings only the goddess and I truly know. And was she famous or infamous for it at the end? All this death?’

The opening pages of this story surprised and intrigued me, as it begins will alternating stories which  are worded very similar but describe two very different experiences for its protagonist. We see a girl as she loses her virginity and as she kills for the first time. I thought the writing here was very clever with subtle changes proving to be the difference between the two experiences – the pain, the fear and the power. And the girl in question is quite a remarkable character – Mia Corvere. Mia was just ten years old when she lost everything, seeing death for the first time in the most traumatic of circumstances. Six years later, Mia begins her quest to seek revenge, to strike against the enemies that threaten her and those closest to her. She enrols at a school known as ‘The Red Church’ but like Mia this school is far from ordinary. She is trained to kill, and finds herself in the midst of a murder cult…

“The books we love, they love us back. And just as we mark our places in the pages, those pages leave their marks on us. I can see it in you, sure as I see it in me. You’re a daughter of words. A girl with a story to tell.”

The premise was certainly interesting and made for an action packed plot with lots of violent, shocking moments. It took me a little while to get into this book and get used to the writing style but as I kept reading I became more and more intrigued by this frightening world and the remarkable young girl at the heart of it. In Mia, Kristoff has created a fascinating, troubled protagonist in an equally fascinating and frightening world. There is also some good world building and I liked finding out more about the setting and its history. This is further helped with the inclusion of footnotes. Admittedly, I am not generally a fan of footnotes as I find them quite distracting but I enjoyed the additional information which added extra detail and a bit of humour to this dark tale.

“There are no friends here, Acolyte. The wolf does not pity the lamb. The storm begs no forgiveness of the drowned. We are killers one, killers all.”

I enjoyed reading Nevernight, it is a bold, epic fantasy story. A story of violence, vengeance and one unforgettable young woman.

3 thoughts on “Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

  1. Your review definitely piqued my interest! I hadn’t heard about this one before stumbling across your blog. I myself have just hopped on WordPress to chronicle my writing journey. You have a splendid collection of reviews here. I admire your ability to read so many titles of so many different genres. I WISH I could read so frequently. I subscribed. Can’t wait to see what you read next!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

