My Top 10 Books of 2016

owl1

As the end of the year approaches it is the time of year that readers and bloggers look back at those books that we loved the most this year. And in 2016 I managed to read 83 books covering a range of genres, and it was difficult to pick just 10 from this list as there have been some wonderful books this year. For the purposes of this list I have only included books that were originally published in 2016, so any books I have read from prior years or any due for publication in 2017 have been excluded from the list.

Without further ado (in publication date order) here are my top 10 reads of 2016:

thetroublewithgoatsandsheepThe Trouble With Goats And Sheep by Joanna Cannon

Publisher: The Borough Press

Publication Date: 28th January 2016

My thoughts: The Trouble With Goats And Sheep marks the arrival of a wonderful new voice in fiction who has produced here a remarkably accomplished debut. It is gripping, fun and moving. It is a story we can relate to, with characters whose traits we can recognise in our own neighbours. Ultimately, it is  story of two girls discovering what it means to belong in their community, what it means to blend in with the flock or to act alone.


anatomyofasoldierAnatomy Of A Soldier by Harry Parker

Publisher: Faber & Faber

Publication Date: 25th February 2016

My thoughts: Harry Parker’s fascinating portrayal of the life of a soldier told from the perspectives of inanimate objects made for a powerful story filled with honesty, intimacy and an unflinching portrayal of the horrors of war.

 


theshadowhourThe Shadow Hour by Kate Riordan

Publisher: Penguin

Publication Date: 25th February 2016

My thoughts: I thought that The Shadow Hour was a wonderful novel. I loved the atmospheric setting and the way the mystery is built up, switching back and forth through time as the characters secrets and stories were revealed.

 



inherwakeIn Her Wake by Amanda Jennings

Publisher: Orenda Books

Publication Date: April 2016 (Paperback)

My thoughts: An expertly written psychological novel which explores what happens when the life we know turns out to not be as it seems. A gripping, surprising read with plenty of secrets and betrayals to be uncovered.

 


fiveriversmetonawoodedplainFive Rivers Met On A Wooded Plain by Barney Norris

Publisher: Doubleday

Publication Date: 21st April 2016

My thoughts: A wonderful book in which the lives of five people, all of whom have similar stories to tell, are seamlessly woven together as the events of one evening result in these five lives becoming intertwined. A gripping, moving story that explores love, loss and loneliness.


theessexserpentThe Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry

Publisher: Serpents Tail

Publication Date: 27th May 2016

My thoughts: I loved The Essex Serpent and found it to be a gripping, enthralling story. It is a novel filled with intelligence and warmth, which tells the story of a myth and those who seek the truth – the truth about the beast, and about themselves. It is a wonderful story about love and life, about faith, folklore and friendship in a mysterious landscape.


thewolfroadThe Wolf Road by Beth Lewis

Publisher: The Borough Press

Publication Date: 30th June 2016

My thoughts: Beth Lewis has written a brilliant, impressive debut that had me enthralled throughout. It is a fascinating story of survival, a story of one girl’s incredible journey, her survival against the elements, the wilderness and the life she left behind.

 


thegirlfromthesavoy

The Girl From The Savoy by Hazel Gaynor

Publisher: Harper Fiction

Publication Date: 8th September 2016

My thoughts: A beautifully written story of hope, love and adventure which provides a fascinating glimpse into the past, to an era filled with promise, and the life of Dolly – an ordinary girl and her journey into an extraordinary world.

 


darkwaterDark Water by Sara Bailey

Publisher: Nightingale Editions

Publication Date: 3rd October 2016

My thoughts: An impressive, gripping debut that I struggled to put down. It is a tense psychological tale of friendship, love, obsession and moving on.

 

 

tothebrightedgeoftheworld


*My Book of the Year*

To The Bright Edge Of The World by Eowyn Ivey

Publisher: Tinder Press

Publication Date: 2nd August 2016

My thoughts: I adored To the Bright Edge of the World. I was quickly drawn into this world, this undiscovered land and all the challenges it brings, challenges which are faced with determination, with love and hope to get them through. This is a wonderful story of discovery, of love and loss. A story of one family’s history, their exploration.


And that concludes my top 10 books for 2016! You can read full reviews of all my favourites by clicking the links above. Thanks for reading!

6 thoughts on “My Top 10 Books of 2016

Leave a comment