Other Bookish Posts

Holiday Reads!

holidayreads

Today I am off on holiday so thought I would share the books I was taking with me! Here are the books I have chosen…

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas (Bloomsbury)

What the blurb says…

‘Feyre is a huntress.

She thinks nothing of slaughtering a wolf to capture its prey. But, like all mortals, she fears what lingers mercilessly beyond the forest. And she will learn that taking the life of a magical creature comes at a high price…

Imprisoned in an enchanted court in her enemy’s kingdom, Feyre is free to roam but forbidden to escape. Her captors body bears the scars of fighting, and his face is always masked – but his piercing stare draws her ever closer. As Feyres feelings fir Tamlin begin to burn through every warning she’s been told about his kind, an ancient, wicked shadow grows.

Feyre must find a way to break a spell, or lose her heart forever.’

Why I chose it…

Have heard so much about this trilogy so giving the first installment a go!


The Music Shop by Rachel Joyce (Doubleday)

What the blurb says…

‘1988. Frank owns a music shop. It is jam-packed with records of every speed, size and genre. Classical, jazz, punk – as long as its vinyl, he sells it. Day after day, Frank finds his customers the music they need.

Then into his life walks Ilse Brauchmann.

Ilse asks Frank to teach her about music. His instinct is to turn and run. And yet he is drawn to this strangely still, mysterious woman with her pea-green coat and her eyes as black as vinyl. But Ilse is not what she seems. And Frank has old wounds that threaten to re-open and a past he will never leave behind.’

Why I chose it…

I love Rachel Joyce’s writing so this is one of my most anticipated reads for this year!


Broken Branches by M. Jonathan Lee (Hideaway Fall)

What the blurb says…

”Family curses don’t exist. Sure, some families seem to suffer more pain than others, but a curse? An actual curse? I don’t think so.”

A family tragedy was the catalyst for Ian Perkins to return to the isolated cottage with his wife and young son. But now they are back, it seems yet more grief might befall the family.

There is still time to act, but that means Ian must face the uncomfortable truth about his past. And in doing so, he must uncover the truth behind the supposed family curse.’

Why I chose it…

The first book I received from new publisher Hideaway Fall, which intrigues me with its talk of past secrets!


Short Ride on a Fast Machine by Magnus McGrandle (Sandstone Press)

What the blurb says…

‘Bicycle courier Sam thought the job seemed weird, but lucrative: collect Mr Sorenson’s stuffed owl from Norway and bring it back to London. But with the mysterious client attracting the attention of international police, Sam might have become an accomplice to one of the world’s strangest crimes…’

Why I chose it…

Mr Sorenson’s stuffed owl? Need I say more!


Hopefully, I will be able to share reviews of these books with you soon. I may have limited access to the internet on holiday but the likelihood is I won’t be around on social media much for the next week or so. When I return from holiday, I should be moving into my house (shudders at the thought of volume of books to be unpacked!) so if I am a bit rubbish at reading and sharing I apologise in advance! Hotel Wi-Fi permitting I may share a few photos of my trip on my instagram if you wish to have a look: https://www.instagram.com/theowlonthebookstagram/

As always thanks to everyone for reading and sharing my posts, it is always greatly appreciated!

15 thoughts on “Holiday Reads!

Leave a Reply

